Schwann Cells

Schwann cells, also known as neurilemma cells or neurolemmocytes, are the cells of the peripheral nervous system that are responsible for the production of the myelin sheath that protects the synapses of the nerves. They are named after the 19th century German physiologist Theodor Schwann who first observed them. There are two types of Schwann cells: myelating and nonmyelating. Myelinating Schwann cells wrap themselves around the axons of the motor and sensory neurons to form the myelin sheath that protects the neurons.

Add flashcard Cite Random